Professor Dong-Lei Feng (Fudan University, China) is the co-winner of the 2010 Achievement in Asia Award (AAA) **(ROBERT T. POE PRIZE)** of the Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA).

The OCPA AAA Award is given annually to Chinese physicists working in Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in physics. The Award carries a total cash prize of US \$1,500 (shared by another co-winner this year) and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Professor Dong-Lai Feng received his B.S. (1994) and M.S. (1996) degrees in physics at the University of Science and Technology of China, and his Ph.D. degree in 2001 at Stanford University in the United States with Prof. Zhi-Xun Shen. He then spent two and a half years as a postdoctoral fellow in the University of British Columbia, Canada with Prof. George A. Sawatzky. He started to work at Fudan University since 2002, and now is the Hao-Qin Chair professor in the Department of Physics at Fudan University.

Professor Feng's area of research is experimental condensed matter physics. His work on high temperature superconductivity and ordering phenomena in solids, and his achievement in high-resolution angle resolved photoemission spectroscopy are particularly notable. His group at Fudan has made a few important discoveries, such as the large scale dispersion and coherence peak in single layer copper-oxide superconductors, the large scale band reconstruction associated with the unconventional spin density wave in iron-based superconductors, and a novel strong-coupling mechanism for the long standing mystery of charge density waves in transition metal dichalcogenides. His other contributions include extending the inelastic x-ray scattering technique to study the exitons in organic molecular crystals and small molecules, developing the resonant soft x-ray scattering technique to study ordering in complex materials, and revealing the electronic structure at strained oxide interfaces, which is crucial for the future application of oxide electronics. He has been awarded the "Javed Hussain Prize for young scientist" by the UNESCO in 2005.

The winner of OCPA's 2010 AAA Award was selected by the following panel of distinguished physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Che Ting Chan	Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Xian-Tu He	Institute of Applied Physics and Computational
	Mathematics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Professor Choy Heng Lai	National University of Singapore
Professor Ting-Kuo Lee	Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Professor Yuen-Ron Shen	University of California, Berkeley
Professor Li Hua Yu	Brookhaven National Laboratory

OCPA's AAA Award activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the Chinese physics community. Previous AAA winners include:

OU-YANG, Zhong-Can	(1993, Institute of Theoretical Physics, China)
ZHU, Qing-Shi	(1994, University of Science and Technology, China)
I, Lin	(1995, National Central University, Taiwan)
WEI, Ching-Ming	(1996, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
CHING, Emily Shuk-Chi	(1999, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
WANG, Jian	(1999, University of Hong Kong)
CHAN, Che-Ting	(2000, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)
HOU, Jian-Guo	(2001, University of Science & Technology, China)
YANG, Xue-Ming	(2001, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
HOU, Wei-Shu	(2002 National Taiwan University)
WANG, Enge	(2002, Inst. of Phys., Chinese Academy of Sciences)
ZHANG, Jie	(2004, Inst. of Phys., Chinese Academy of Sciences)
LI, Baowen	(2005, National University of Singapore)
WANG, Ning	(2006, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)
LI, Hsiang-nan	(2007, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
GAO, Hongjun	(2008, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
East Team	(2009, Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS, China)
MENG, Jie	(2009, Beijing University)