Professor Hai-Hu Wen (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences) is the cowinner of the 2010 Achievement in Asia Award (AAA) **(ROBERT T. POE PRIZE)** of the Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA).

The OCPA AAA Award is given annually to Chinese physicists working in Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in physics. The Award carries a total cash prize of US \$1,500 (shared by another co-winner this year) and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Professor Hai-Hu Wen has been working and studying in the field of high temperature superconductivity since 1985. He received his Ph.D. degree in 1991 at Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS. Then he spent two years (1991-1993) at Free University, Amsterdam, the Netherlands, as a postdoc. From 1996-1998 he worked as an Alexander von Humboldt fellow in Ulm University, Germany. He was promoted to the full professor position in 1996 in Institute of Physics, CAS. He got the Outstanding Chinese Young Scholar's award by NSFC in 1998. From 2000-2009 he served as the director of the National Lab for Superconductivity. Now he is the director of the national 973 project for fundamental research in superconductivity in China. He is also serving as the editor member of Physica C. Chinese Physics Letters. Science in China G. etc.

Professor Wen's area of research covers broadly in the field of superconductivity: material synthesizing, pairing mechanism and flux dynamics of unconventional superconductors. In the cuprate superconductors, he and his colleagues invented the Generalized Inversion Scheme for directly converting the intrinsic vortex pinning energy and critical current density. Meanwhile he has found the magnetic field induced crossover from 3D to 2D of the vortex system and the Kosterlitz-Thouless transition in the 2212 cuprate superconductors. He has also made significant contributions to the superconducting mechanism in the cuprate superconductors, for example, he found the evidence of phase separation in the overdoped cuprate superconductors, and the existence of incoherent electron pairs far above  $T_c$  (through entropy) in the underdoped cuprates. His group rises up as one of the leading ones in the research of iron pnictide superconductors. They fabricated the first hole doped superconductors in the FeAs family. Among the very earliest, they grew the single crystals of the FeAs-1111 system and measured the first set of transport data, found the very small anisotropy. They also discovered the new structure FeAs-32522 and the new superconductor  $Sr_4V_2O_6Fe_2As_2$ , as well as the Fluorine derivative system REFeAsF (RE=rare earth elements) and found superconductivity at 57 K. His refined specific heat, point contact tunneling and transport measurements reveal the importance of multiband feature and antiferromagnetic spin fluctuations in the pairing mechanism of the iron pnictide superconductor.

The winner of OCPA's 2010 AAA Award was selected by the following panel of distinguished physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Che Ting Chan

Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Institute of Applied Physics and Computational
Mathematics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
National University of Singapore
Academia Sinica, Taiwan
University of California, Berkeley
Brookhaven National Laboratory

OCPA's AAA Award activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the Chinese physics community. Previous AAA winners include:

OU-YANG, Zhong-Can	(1993, Institute of Theoretical Physics, China)
ZHU, Qing-Shi	(1994, University of Science and Technology, China)
I, Lin	(1995, National Central University, Taiwan)
WEI, Ching-Ming	(1996, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
CHING, Emily Shuk-Chi	(1999, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
WANG, Jian	(1999, University of Hong Kong)
CHAN, Che-Ting	(2000, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)
HOU, Jian-Guo	(2001, University of Science & Technology, China)
YANG, Xue-Ming	(2001, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
HOU, Wei-Shu	(2002 National Taiwan University)
WANG, Enge	(2002, Inst. of Phys., Chinese Academy of Sciences)
ZHANG, Jie	(2004, Inst. of Phys., Chinese Academy of Sciences)
LI, Baowen	(2005, National University of Singapore)
WANG, Ning	(2006, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)
LI, Hsiang-nan	(2007, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
GAO, Hongjun	(2008, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
East Team	(2009, Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS, China)
MENG, Jie	(2009, Beijing University)