

Professor Pei-Ming Ho from National Taiwan University is the winner of the 2011 Achievement in Asia Award (AAA) (ROBERT T. POE PRIZE) of the Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA).

The OCPA AAA Award is given annually to Chinese physicists working in Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in physics. The Award carries a total cash prize of US \$1,500 and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Prof. Pei-Ming Ho has been working on string theory since he graduated from UC Berkeley in 1996. After 2 years of postdoc position at University of Utah, he took the faculty position at National Taiwan University. He became a full professor in 2004.

His contribution to string theory includes works on the noncommutative geometry and the gauge symmetry of M-branes. By quantizing open strings on D-branes in B-filed background in string theory, he and his collaborator found that the D-brane worldvolume is non-commutative from the viewpoint of the end-points of open strings. With his collaborators, he also contributed by improving our understanding of the worldvolume gauge theory of M2-branes, which involves new developments on the mathematical theory of Lie 3-algebras. They also constructed the theory of an M5-brane in C field background in M theory, which is the first higher form non-Abelian gauge theory even found. This work also led to better understanding about self-dual gauge theories, and about D-branes in RR field background. New gauge symmetries and gauge interactions arise as a result. He became a fellow of the Chinese Physical Society in 2004, and has won the NSC Outstanding Research Award twice, and the NTU Outstanding Teacher Award twice.

The winner of the 2011AAA Award (the Robert T. Poe Prize) was selected by following panel of distinguished physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Che Ting Chan
Professor Choy Heng Lai
Professor Dung-Hai Lee
Professor Jianwei Qiu
Professor Kenneth Young
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
National University of Singapore
University of California, Berkeley
Brookhaven National Laboratory
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

OCPA's AAA Award activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the Chinese physics community. Previous AAA winners include:

OU-YANG, Zhong-Can (1993, Institute of Theoretical Physics, China)
ZHII Oing-Shi (1994, University of Science and Technology C

ZHU, Qing-Shi (1994, University of Science and Technology, China)

I, Lin (1995, National Central University, Taiwan)

WEI, Ching-Ming (1996, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

CHING, Emily Shuk-Chi (1999, Chinese University of Hong Kong)

WANG, Jian (1999, University of Hong Kong)

CHAN, Che-Ting (2000, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology) HOU, Jian-Guo (2001, University of Science & Technology, China)

YANG, Xue-Ming (2001, Academia Sinica, Taiwan) HOU, Wei-Shu (2002 National Taiwan University)

WANG, Enge (2002, Inst. of Phys., Chinese Academy of Sciences) ZHANG, Jie (2004, Inst. of Phys., Chinese Academy of Sciences)

LI, Baowen (2005, National University of Singapore)

WANG, Ning (2006, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)

LI, Hsiang-nan (2007, Academia Sinica, Taiwan) GAO, Hongjun (2008, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)

East Team (2009, Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS, China)

Jie Meng (2009, Beijing University) Dong-Lai Feng (2010, Fudan University)

Hai-Hu Wen (2010, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)