Jin-Feng Jia and Xingjiang Zhou won the 2013 Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize)

Professor Jin-Feng Jia of the Shanghai Jiao Tong University, and Professor Xingjiang Zhou of the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, are the co-winners of the 2013 Achievement in Asia Award (AAA) (Robert T. Poe Prize) given by the International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers (OCPA).

The OCPA AAA (Robert T. Poe Prize) is awarded annually to a Chinese physicist/astronomer or a team working in Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in physics and astronomy. The Award carries a total cash prize of US \$2,000 and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Professor Jin-Feng Jia received his B.Sc. degree in 1987 and Ph.D. degree in 1992, both from the Physics Department of Peking University. After extensive research experiences in China and abroad (including Japan and US), he returned to China in 2001 and was appointed to a professorship at the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing. From 2006 to 2009, Professor Jia joined the faculty of Department of Physics in Tsinghua University. Since 2009, Professor Jia has been the Cheung Kong Professor in the Physics Department of the Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU). The research field of Professor Jie is surface science and nano-science & nano-technology. In particular, Professor Jie and his group are internationally recognized for their research capabilities in epitaxial growth of novel quantum materials (such as topological insulators, superconducting films, and their heterostructures), in conducting atomic-scale probing of the electronic and magnetic properties on surfaces of quantum materials, and in developing new measurement techniques with high spatial and energy resolutions. His accomplishments have also led to a number of prestigious awards, including the Outstanding Science and Technology Achievement Prize of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2005), the National Award for Natural Sciences by the State Council of the People's Republic of China (2011, Second class Prize), and the Group Award for Outstanding Science and Technology Achievement from the Qiu Shi Science & Technologies Foundation of Hong Kong (2011).

Professor Xingjian Zhou received his B.Sc. degree in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering from Tsinghua University in Beijing in 1988, M.Sc. degree in Materials Science and Engineering from Tsinghua University in 1990, and Ph.D. degree from Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing in 1994. From 1995 to 1997, he was the Humboldt Research Fellow at the Max Plank Institute in Stuttgart Germany. From 1997 to 2001, he was a visiting physicist at the Applied Physics Department and the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory in Stanford University, and became Physicist and Beam-Line Scientist at both Stanford and the Advanced Light Source in Lawrence Berkeley National Lab from 2001 to 2006. He was appointed Professor in 2004, and Director of the National Key Lab for Superconductivity in 2009, in the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing. The research field of Professor Zhou is experimental condensed matter physics. Since his return to China, Professor Zhou has established a world-class photoemission lab, and has become

internationally recognized for his contributions to advancing photoemission techniques and superconductivity research, particularly in developing vacuum ultra-violet laserbased photoemission systems and studying high-temperature superconducting cuprates and iron-based compounds. His accomplishments have also been recognized by a number of prestigious awards in China, including the NSFC Outstanding Youth award (2005), the Mao Yisheng Beijing Youth Science Award (2006), the Zhou Guangzhao Award for "Outstanding Youth in Basic Science" (2008), and the Hu Gangfu Award of the Chinese Physical Society (2009).

The winners of the 2013 AAA (the Robert T. Poe Prize) were selected by following panel of distinguished physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Che Ting Chan	Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Professor Ting-Kuo Lee	Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Professor Zheng-Tian Lu	Argonne National Laboratory
Professor Kenneth Young	The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Professor Wu-Tsung Weng	Brookhaven National Laboratory

OCPA's AAA activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the Chinese physics and astronomy community. Previous AAA winners include:

OU-YANG, Zhong-Can	(1993, Institute of Theoretical Physics, China)
ZHU, Qing-Shi	(1994, University of Science and Technology, China)
I, Lin	(1995, National Central University, Taiwan)
WEI, Ching-Ming	(1996, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
CHING, Emily Shuk-Chi	(1999, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
WANG, Jian	(1999, University of Hong Kong)
CHAN, Che-Ting	(2000, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)
HOU, Jian-Guo	(2001, University of Science & Technology, China)
YANG, Xue-Ming	(2001, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
HOU, Wei-Shu	(2002, National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
WANG, Enge	(2002, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
ZHANG, Jie	(2004, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
LI, Baowen	(2005, National University of Singapore)
WANG, Ning	(2006, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology)
LI, Hsiang-nan	(2007, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
GAO, Hongjun	(2008, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
East Team	(2009, Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS, China)
Jie Meng	(2009, Beijing University, China)
Dong-Lai Feng	(2010, Fudan University, China)
Hai-Hu Wen	(2010, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
Pei-Ming Ho	(2011, National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Xi Dai	(2012, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)
Zhong Fang	(2012, Institute of Physics, CAS, China)