

Professor Chong-Yu Ruan (Department of Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University) is the co-winner of the 2009 Outstanding Young Researcher Award of the Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA).

The OYRA is given each year to young ethnic Chinese physicists outside of Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in physics. The Award carries a total cash prize of US \$1,500 (shared by another co-winner this year) and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Professor Chong-Yu Ruan received his Ph.D. degree in 2000 at University of Texas, Austin. After four year postdoctoral experiences at Laboratory for Molecular Sciences, California Institute of Technology, he joined the Department of Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University, as an Assistant Professor.

Professor Ruan's area of research is in the application of electron diffraction in materials science. He has been recognized as a world-leader in ultrafast electron diffraction (UED), a technique he helped develop into a more mature current form while he was a postdoc at Caltech working with Ahmed Zewail. He and his coworkers at Caltech have successfully developed two generations of UED to elucidate the transient states of matter involving photoexcitation in molecular and condensed matter systems. He has recently applied a focused beam UED to investigate surface isolated nanomaterials for the first time, providing new prospects for material inquiry into the emergent areas of nanoscience at the most fundamental level. He has thus established scientific leadership in ultrafast electron nanocrystallography. He has also applied this technology to large molecules with high relevance to biological processes.

The 2009 OYRA winners were selected by the following panel of distinguished Physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Tao Han University of Wisconsin

Professor Patrick Lee Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor Lu Jeu Sham University of California, San Diego
Professor Yuen-Ron Shen University of California at Berkeley
Professor Li Hua Yu Brookhaven National Laboratory

Professor Shoucheng Zhang Stanford University

The OCPA award activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the ethnic Chinese physics community. Previous OYRA winners include:

Shou-Cheng Zhang (1992, Stanford University)
Terence Tai-Li Hwa (1993, UC San Diego)
Zhi-Xun Shen (1993, Stanford University)

Xiao-Gang Wen (1994, MIT)

Gang Xiao (1994, Brown University) Wai Mo Suen (1995, Washington University)

Hong Wen Jiang (1996, UCLA)

Rui Rui Du (1997, University of Utah) Zi Qiang Qiu (1997, UC Berkeley)

Nai-Chang Yeh (1998, California Institute of Technology)

Wayne Hu (1999, University of Chicago)
Chung-Pei Ma (2000, University of Pennsylvania)
Zhen Yao (2001, University of Texas)
Pengcheng Dai (2002, University of Tennessee)

Pengcheng Dai (2002, University of Tennessee)
Hoi-Kwong Lo (2002, University of Toronto)
Kun Yang (2002, Florida State University)
Hui Cao (2003, Northwestern University)

Jonathan Feng (2003, University of California at Irvine)

Luming Duan (2005, University of Michigan)
Cheng Chin (2006, University of Chicago)
W. Vincent Liu (2007, University of Pittsburgh)
Ho Bun Chan (2008, University of Florida)

Feng Wang (2008, University of California, Berkeley) Congjun Wu (2008, University of California, San Diego)