## 

Professor Dongping Zhong (Department of Physics, Ohio State University) is the cowinner of the 2009 Outstanding Young Researcher Award of the Overseas Chinese Physics Association (OCPA).

The OYRA is given each year to young ethnic Chinese physicists outside of Asia in recognition of their outstanding achievements in physics. The Award carries a total cash prize of US \$1,500 (shared by another co-winner this year) and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Professor Dongping Zhong received his Ph.D. degree in 1999 at the Department of Chemical Physics, California Institute of Technology. After three year postdoctoral experiences at Laboratory for Molecular Sciences, California Institute of Technology, he joined the Ohio State University as an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Departments of Physics, Chemistry, and Biochemistry. In 2007, he was promoted as *Robert Smith* Associate Professor of Physics and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Professor Zhong's area of research is in biological dynamics. He has established a world-class research program in the general area of Biomolecular Interactions and Protein Dynamics, with an emphasis on Ultrafast Femtosecond Spectroscopy. He pioneered on studies of femtosecond dynamics of elementary processes in the mesoscopic scale of matter, clusters of atoms and molecules. His major contributions include the investigation of ultrafast catalytic processes in enzymes. In particular, he has been investigating a family of enzymes that function to repair DNA that has been damaged by UV light. He has also initiated research on the dynamics of biological water of proteins and DNA and on the effect of site-selective mutations on the dynamics of enzymes. His scholarly and creative work, combining the best in molecular physics and molecular biology, opened up a whole new frontier in biological dynamics, one of the most exciting fields at the interface of physics, chemistry, and biology.

The 2009 OYRA winners were selected by the following panel of distinguished Physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Tao Han University of Wisconsin

Professor Patrick Lee Massachusetts Institute of Technology Professor Lu Jeu Sham University of California, San Diego Professor Yuen-Ron Shen University of California at Berkeley Professor Li Hua Yu Brookhaven National Laboratory

Professor Shoucheng Zhang Stanford University

The OCPA award activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the ethnic Chinese physics community. Previous OYRA winners include:

Shou-Cheng Zhang
Terence Tai-Li Hwa
Zhi-Xun Shen
(1992, Stanford University)
(1993, UC San Diego)
(1993, Stanford University)

Xiao-Gang Wen (1994, MIT)

Gang Xiao (1994, Brown University) Wai Mo Suen (1995, Washington University)

Hong Wen Jiang (1996, UCLA)

Rui Rui Du (1997, University of Utah) Zi Qiang Qiu (1997, UC Berkeley)

Nai-Chang Yeh (1998, California Institute of Technology)

Wayne Hu (1999, University of Chicago) Chung-Pei Ma (2000, University of Pennsylvania) Zhen Yao (2001, University of Texas)

Pengcheng Dai (2002, University of Texas)
Hoi-Kwong Lo (2002, University of Toronto)
Kun Yang (2002, Florida State University)
Hui Cao (2003, Northwestern University)

Jonathan Feng (2003, University of California at Irvine)

Luming Duan (2005, University of Michigan)
Cheng Chin (2006, University of Chicago)
W. Vincent Liu (2007, University of Pittsburgh)
Ho Bun Chan (2008, University of Florida)

Feng Wang (2008, University of California, Berkeley) Congjun Wu (2008, University of California, San Diego)