

Professor Xuan Gao (Department of Physics, Case Western Reserve University) is one of the two winners of the 2012 Outstanding Young Researcher Award (Macronix Prize) of the International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers (OCPA).

The former OYRA Award has been renamed to the present OYRA Award (Macronix Prize) in 2012 in recognition of a generous donation from the Macronix Education Foundation. The OYRA Award (Macronix Prize) is given each year to a young ethnic Chinese physicist/astronomer outside of Asia in recognition of his/her outstanding achievements in physics/astronomy. The Award carries a cash prize of US \$2,000 and a certificate citing the awardee's accomplishments in research.

Prof. Xuan Gao was born in JiangXi province, China in 1978. He received his B.S. degree in Applied Physics at South China University of Technology in 1998. In 2003, he received his Ph.D. degree at Columbia University, under the supervisions of Prof. Aron Pinczuk (at Columbia) and Drs. Allen Mills and Arthur Ramirez (at Bell Labs). His Ph.D. thesis was awarded the Robert Simon Memorial Prize by the Dept of Applied Physics and Applied Math of Columbia University. Between 2003 and 2005, he was a Director's Funded postdoctoral fellow at Los Alamos National Lab, under the supervision of Dr. Greg Boebinger. Then he moved to Harvard University to extend his postdoc training, in Prof. Charles Lieber's group. In 2007, he joined Case Western Reserve University as an Assistant Professor in Physics.

Prof. Gao's research interests include emergent phases and phase transitions in low dimensional correlated electron systems, and the synthesis, understanding and engineering of functional nanomaterials/devices. In the field of strongly correlated two-dimensional (2D) electrons, he made important contributions to the understanding of an emergent 2D metallic state and the metal-insulator transition (MIT). For example, his research group (and collaborators) recently elucidated the 2D MIT in ultra clean gallium arsenide quantum wells with extreme interaction strength being an electron liquid to solid phase transition. In addition, Prof. Gao also made broad contributions to the physics and device applications of nanowire materials. Examples of recent work from his lab include: quantum transport studies of electrons in semiconductor nanowires, discovery of a linear magneto-resistance in topological insulator nanowires, and the elucidation of performance limits of nanowire based bio-sensors.

The winner of OCPA's 2012 OYRA Award was selected by following panel of distinguished physicists (in alphabetical order):

Professor Moses Chan
Professor Kam-Biu Luk
Professor Lu Jeu Sham
Professor Yuen-Ron Shen

Pennsylvania State University University of California, Berkeley University of California, San Diego University of California, Berkeley The OCPA award (Macronix Prize) activity is a continuing program and represents a long tradition of OCPA to recognize outstanding achievements of the members of the ethnic Chinese physics and astronomy community. Previous OYRA winners include:

Shou-Cheng Zhang Terence Tai-Li Hwa Zhi-Xun Shen Xiao-Gang Wen Gang Xiao Wai Mo Suen Hong Wen Jiang Rui Rui Du Zi Oiang Oiu Nai-Chang Yeh Wayne Hu Chung-Pei Ma Zhen Yao Pengcheng Dai Hoi-Kwong Lo Kun Yang Hui Cao Jonathan Feng Luming Duan Cheng Chin W. Vincent Liu Ho Bun Chan Feng Wang Congjun Wu Chong-Yu Ruan Dongping Zhong Xiaoliang Qi Cenke Xu

(1992, Stanford University) (1993, UC San Diego) (1993, Stanford University) (1994, MIT) (1994, Brown University) (1995, Washington University) (1996, UCLA) (1997, University of Utah) (1997, UC Berkeley) (1998, California Institute of Technology) (1999, University of Chicago) (2000, University of Pennsylvania) (2001, University of Texas) (2002, University of Tennessee) (2002, University of Toronto) (2002, Florida State University) (2003, Northwestern University) (2003, University of California at Irvine) (2005, University of Michigan) (2006, University of Chicago) (2007, University of Pittsburgh) (2008, University of Florida) (2008, University of California, Berkeley) (2008, University of California, San Diego) (2009, Michigan State University) (2009, Ohio State University) (2010, Stanford University) (2011, University of California, Santa Barbara)