

Highlights of OCPA Activities in 2011

The year of 2011 was eventful for physicists worldwide – we celebrated the centennial of the discovery of atomic nucleus and the discovery of superconductivity. The major event in 2011 for OCPA was the seventh joint meeting of Chinese physicists worldwide (OCPA7) (http://ocpa7.phys.nsysu.edu.tw), titled "International Conference on Physics Education and Frontier Physics", August 1-5, 2011. It was held on the campus of National Sun Yat-Sen University (NSYSU) in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, co-organized by OCPA, National Tsinghua University (NTHU) and NSYSU. It was a great success, thanks to the heroic effort of the local organizing committee (chaired by Prof. Chie-Tong Kuo, NSYSU and Prof. Hsiang-Kuang Chang, NTHU), the program committee (chaired by Prof. Chien-Peng Yuan, MSU), the parallel session conveners, the conference organizing and international advisory committees. We also thank the sponsors for OCPA7 for their generous support of the conference. The site and host for the OCPA8 conference (to be held in 2014) are still under discussion. We hope to announce the site as soon as it is selected.

OCPA was again very happy to be a co-host of the joint reception at the APS March meeting in Dallas, TX on March 22, 2011. Nai-Chang Yeh, Albert Chang and many other OCPA members attended the reception. Both the 2010 Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize) and the Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA) were given at the reception. All three 2010 award recipients (Xiaoliang Qi for the OYRA and Dong-Lai Feng and Hai-Hu Wen for the AAA) were present in person to receive their awards.

Chinese physicists and astronomers are making increasingly significant contributions to scientific research worldwide, evident from the many awards and prizes received by the Chinese physicists and astronomers (many are members of OCPA) in 2011-2012: (http://www.ocpaweb.org/new/wehearthat/wehearthat.html) Shoucheng Zhang will share the 2012 APS Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize; Ching W. Tang shared the 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry; Maw-Kuen Wu won the 2011 science and technology award in Japan and the 2011 Presidential Science Prize (the highest honor bestowed to the best scientists every other year in Taiwan) in the category of mathematics and physical sciences; Zhirong Huang shared the 2011 USPAS Prize; Zhi-Xun Shen shared the 2011 APS Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize, Cheng Chin received 2011 APS I.I. Rabi Prize. Shina Tang received the 2010 APS George E. Valley Jr. Prize. Many Chinese Physicists were elected fellows of the American

Physical Society, as listed on the APS Fellowship website:

http://www.aps.org/programs/honors/fellowships/archive-all.cfm. Chung-Pei Ma (UC-Berkeley), Tin-Lun (Jason) Ho (Ohio State), and Lu Jeu Sham (UC-San Diego) were elected Fellows of AAAS. Xiao-Gang Wen became the inaugural holder of the BMO Financial Group Isaac Newton Chair in Theoretical Physics at Perimeter Institute.

The two OCPA awards (http://www.ocpaweb.org/new/oyraaward/oyraaward.html Outstanding Young Researcher Award and http://www.ocpaweb.org/new/oyraaward/oyraaward.html the Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize) continued to attract candidates of excellent caliber. Pei-Ming Ho from National Taiwan University won the 2010-2011 AAA awards and Cenke Xu from University of California, Santa Barbara won the 2010-2011 OYRA awards. Nominations for both awards for 2011-2012 are open until March 16, 2012. We would like to thank the award selection committee members (Moses Chan, Kam-Biu Luk, Lu J. Sham, Y.-R. Shen and Xiao-Gang Wen for the OYRA; Che Ting Chan, Choy Heng Lai, Dung-Hai Lee, Jianwei Qiu and Kenneth Young for the AAA) for their outstanding services. We would also like to express our gratitude to Prof. Tu-Nan Chang and his family for the generous support of the Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize). Additionally, we are very happy to share with you a piece of exciting news concerning the OYRA award: Under the leadership of Prof. Albert Chang in our funding raising effort, we have now Macronix Education Foundation on board as the sponsor of the OYRA award. The OYRA award will become OYRA (Macronix Prize) in the near future. Stay tuned.

We are very grateful to OCPA members who have responded to call for donation to the OCPA general fund in 2011, particularly to Prof. Paul C.W. Chu and Mrs. Chu, Prof. K.K. Phua, Prof. Alex Chao and an anonymous donor from Mainland China. These generous donations will help support other OCPA sponsored activities including Summer Schools, Workshops, and receptions at APS meetings.

It is a great pleasure to welcome the following new members of OCPA: Jun Cao (life member, IHEP), Xiangsong Chen (life member, Huazhong University of Science and Technology), Guangyu Guo (regular member, National Taiwan University), Xingtao Huang (life member, Shandong University), Anyi Li (life member, University of Washington, Seattle), Yi-Kang Pu (regular member, Tsinghua University), Betty Tsang (life member, Michigan State University), Meng Wang (life member, Shandong University), Lingyan Zhu (life member, Hampton University).

Many accomplished physicists are volunteering their service for OCPA in 2011-2012 (see <u>http://www.ocpaweb.org/new/officers/officers.html</u> for 2011-2012 CPA Officers, Councilors, and Coordinators).

Check out the OCPA web site (<u>http://www.ocpaweb.org/new/index.html</u>) for details of the news and other useful information, such as job openings (<u>http://www.ocpaweb.org/new/jobs/jobs.html</u>). It appears that there are an increasing number of new job openings, particularly in China now.